Presteigne XC

Frosty Winter 5 series after 7 races

Click to download Frosty 5 results  Updated: results now included amended entries for Shaun Hoyes

Sunday's excursion to Presteigne brought to an end the latest winter cross country series, and with it the seventh race of our Frosty Winter 5 series.


Only three races now remain for our intrepid members to gain the points which will count towards their final tally, and at this point podium places are still up for grabs!

Mike Fawcett currently sits a top the Men's competition, closely followed by John Pullen and Adam Michmiok respectively. Indeed, Adam's excellent performance at Presteigne has seen him knock out one of his previous lower scores, and in an 8 point swing reduce the gap from John to 2 points.

Meanwhile, the ladies event is beginning to take shape as more competitors reach the minimum five races required to be eligible for the overall prizes. Jane Rowland's superb season is reflected by the fact she currently holds first place from Sandrine Gorin, who in her debut season has already helped the ladies team retain the winter XC championship. Rounding out the trio at the top is Becki Ansfield for whom the word 'consistant' was seemingly invented.

It will interesting to see how the scoring is affected over the remaining races, where there is a possibility of fewer Wye Valley entrants at each event. The potential to increase your points haul could see some tactical choices being made by our more competitive members!


Presteigne XC results & final positions

A little later than normal but there was a lot to compile!!

Mike Shaw has already posted an eloquant view on this morning over at Facebook, so I've 'nicked' it and re-printed here....

For the second year running we have won the men's and women's team competitions and its the fifth year in succession that the men have won the team title. It was very close this year with just 1 point difference in both events. Many thanks to you all for consistently turning out in force this year it is a big factor contributing to our success. Most of all we hope you all enjoyed the Winter Series and a big thank you to Mike Blenkensop, Clive Rowberry and everyone that helps organise and marshal league events. The rest of my photos will appear on flickr later today, in the meantime I am going to put my feet up for a few hours

Click the links below for the today's results, and the final rankings for the individual and team competitions.

Presteigne XC results

Individual overall results

Team overall results

The latest update to the Frosty 5 series will follow shortly..

Presteigne XC details (UPDATED)

Update: For anyone who would like to carpool, or are unsure of directions, we will be meeting at the Rowing Club at 9am on Sunday morning.

Also, the presentations will be made after the race at the British Legion. If everything goes to plan both the ladies and men have a good opportunity of winning the team prize. With further possibility of success in the category awards it could be a productive day for Wye Valley.

See you all on Sunday morning!


Car Parking - Click to enlargeHard to believe but the final XC of the winter season is already upon us. With this is mind here are the details for Sunday, courtesy of Mike Blenkinsop.

New course - click to enlargePlease find attached the details for the final race in the 2012/13 Herefordshire Cross Country League series to be held at Presteigne on Sunday 3rd. Feb. 2013.
On the course map the men’s course is coloured blue and the women’s course red. Any male juniors (under 17) will run the red course.
The race will be followed by the annual Presentation Ceremony to be held at the British Legion Club in Presteigne where refreshments will be available. Come along and support your team’s successes.
Many thanks to Presteigne Pacers for hosting this event.
I will also take this opportunity to request that all clubs remind their runners to wear their club vests for the league races. This enables easier identification by the officials and allows the other runners to recognise against whom they are running.
Mike B.