Iveson Leads the Way in Muddy Woody Test

Tim Iveson of Builth & District AC put in a superb performance to secure victory in the 19th running of the Muddy Woody 6. Tim was closely followed by previous race winners  Mike Pfeiffer of Brecon AC and Eliot Taylor of Hereford Couriers who finished 2nd and 3rd  in times of 45.10 and 45.28 respectively.

Laura Tootell of Wye Valley Runners held off a strong challenge from Kathryn King also of Wye Valley Runners to secure victory for the second successive year  in a time of 54.38.  Rachel Ward of Amazing Feet had an incredible run securing third place as a FV55 in a time of 57.19.

Monross Trailblazers secured the men’s team award by a single point from Wye Valley Runners in a hotly contested race.  Blazers squad were Andrew Stephens, Barry Davies and Phil Thomas.

Wye Valley Runners team of Laura Tootell, Kathryn King and Maria Miles took the women’s award.

The Wye Valley Runners Shield was awarded to  Wye Valley’s Steven Flowers  and the Jim Gray trophy was presented to Steve King of Wye Valley Runners.

Wye Valley Runners donated £2 of each race entry to Midlands Air Ambulance and an additional £122 was raised at the event.

The race marked a very special occasion for the Young family when for the first time  three generations competed in the  race Andy (43), Nathan (18) and Kieth (63). The achievement was even more remarkable since Andy broke his neck in 2011.

A total of 284 runners completed this challenging muddy course in  dry , calm and mild conditions.

Wye valley Runners wish to thank all the runners for continuing to support this event, the race sponsors and especially the many helpers and marshals whose hard work makes this race possible. We also wish to thank the local residents and in particular the Hanco family for use of their yard and facilities. 


Mens: 1. Tim Iveson (Builth & District) 44.38, 2. Mike Pfeiffer (Brecon AC) 45.10, 3. Eliot Taylor (Hereford Couriers) 45.28, Open Male Tim Iveson (Builth & District) 44.38, MV40 Andrew Stephens (Monross Trailblazers) 46.04, MV45 Mike Pfeiffer (Brecon AC) 45.10, MV50 Clifford Berry (Ledbury & District) 49.11, MV55 Tim Taylor (Hereford Couriers) 50.52, MV60 Geoff Kay ( Hereford Couriers) 55.01, MV65 Ashley Robinson (Croft Ambrey) 59.45, MV70 Brian Symonds (Wye Valley Runners) 71.37

Ladies: 1. Laura Tootell (Wye Valley Runners) 54.38. 2. Kathryn King (Wye Valley Runners) 55.14, 3. Rachel Ward ( Amazing Feet) 57.19,  Open Female Megan Judge (Malvern Joggers) 59.00, FV35 Laura Tootell (Wye Valley Runners) 54.38, FV40 Melanie Hepke ( Bromsgrove & Redditch) 61.01, FV45 Nikki Tyler ( Wye Valley Runners) 62.30, FV50 Suzanne Powell (Croft Ambrey) 66.42, FV55 Rachel Ward (Amazing Feet ) 57.19, FV60 Jacqui Wynds ( Forest of Dean) 73.54